IACA rights and recognition.

Following the publication of an article on catsailingnews and in various other media, the IACA (International A-Division Catamaran Association) would like to recall the following facts:
- IACA owns the rights and logo of the class.
- In France, the IACA only recognises the AFCCA (French Association of Catamarans of Class A) and has not delegated competence to any other French association.

Emmanuel Dodé crowned French Foiling Champion and Albert Roturier French Classic Champion.

The final day of the regatta saw no racing due to a complete absence of wind on the race course as Thibault Laudren reports. 


But with 4 races under our belt, it was enough to crown Emmanuel Dodé new French Champion, in front of Jean-Louis Le Coq and Albert Roturier.

All to play for after day 1 of the French Nationals.

The French 2017 Nationals are organized by the Cercle de la Voile de Bordeaux, on the Lake of Maubuisson, the same spot as the 2014 Europeans as Thibault Laudren reports.


Holding this event now at the end of the French A Cat season seems to have found great interest, with 49 boats registered with sailors who have come a long way from Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, Spain and the Netherlands. 

The 2017 North Americans

2017 A Class North Americans.  A view from the top in Champagne sailing conditions.  Report by Bruce Mahoney.

The 50th Anniversary of the A Class North American Championship was held in San Diego Bay on October 5th-8th.  Hosted by San Diego Yacht Club, the event was held on the Silver Strand State Beach which is halfway down Coronado Island. The sailing area was well protected with flat water and great racing conditions for the Classics and Foilers alike.

Coen De Koning is the new Dutch National Champion

Dutch A-cat Nationals 2017, - Rutger Krijger reports

From the 22nd till the 24th of September the Dutch Nationals were hosted as they usually are by the great catamaran club of Hellecat.  Racing started on Friday with three races in fantastic conditions. Sunshine, 10-12 knots of breeze and flat water.  Coen de Koning, PJ Dwarshuis and Rutger Krijger emerged as the three front boats after the 1st day, showing some good foiling speeds.